Caldera views ~ a day in the life of a cave dweller…

Among the many ‘strange/odd’  questions I get asked by readers….is whether I ever get sick of the view. Whether it becomes ho-hum, whether it gets boring looking at the same thing on a daily basis.

So… for the benefit of those that have never been to this Santorini and/or have never gazed out over the caldera for any length of time… I thought I would let you into a secret.

“It never get’s boring…. because it’s never the same”. Certainly not the same from day to day, or even hour to hour… depending on the time of year, time of day, weather and even the very spot you sit to look out on this wonder of the world.

I could write pages and pages on this… but figured it’s probably best to let some images speak for themselves. Let’s look at some boats, of all sizes, that typically sail past the house. The following four photos were all taken on the same day… the first three being early morning, all within 30 minutes of one another:

 

 first up was my favorite cruise ship… the mighty Princess, probably one of the largest ships around… almost totally silent as she glides in at daybreak !

 

then… even more quietly, the sublime site of one of the sailing cruise ships that frequent the island. To see this just after sunrise… in the full glow of the early morning sun, is one of life’s exquisite little pleasures.

All this… in less time than it takes me to finish my cup of coffee.

ten minutes later… a young couple (as seen through the binoculars) were sailing
past, probably heading to another island. Just a tiny white spec on the magnificent blue of the deep caldera below me.

All this was just as the island was waking up. The parade is endless during peak summer… with dozens of boats/ships making their way in and out. The light changes… therefore the water color changes and if there is a hint of a light breeze, there are magnificent paintings that appear on the blue surface. It is a living canvas thats constantly changing… always capturing your glance, becoming ingrained in your mind for ever.

And then… then there is sunset. If there is a better somewhere on this planet I’d like to hear about it…

this is a sunset image of the caldera for me… nightly. This is one of at least half a dozen old sailing ships that do the sunset/twilight cruises… offering the most incredible images to those of us lucky enough to watch them from above…

So… to those of you  wondering, the short answer is NO… I do not get sick
of the view ; )

Happy summer to you… or warm winter if you’re down under !

M

6 responses to “Caldera views ~ a day in the life of a cave dweller…

  1. Toreh Bahrami

    amazing ….can’t wait to get there…

  2. I had the pleasure of staying a few nights in Oia about four years ago. Your view of the caldera is very similar to the one I had.

    I can relate to what you’re saying, it never gets boring. My brother owns a house that has 270 degree views on the Tamar River in Tasmania, built on the site of my Grandfathers old shack I’d visit as a child. I’d stay for hours looking out across the bay as there was always something happening on the river. This memory (from forty years ago) suddenly returned to me when I visited Oia.

    The view you have is so impressive. I envy greatly, not only the location, but the lifestyle you now enjoy daily.

  3. Lucinda Keller

    Oh these are gorgeous photos!
    I was there more than 20 years ago and still remember how amazing it was and that somehow I felt I was viewing the world from the top. It’s magnificent.

  4. Your blog has been such an inspiration to me! I’m hoping to return to Oia someday to buy a little cave home of my own. In the meantime, I’m learning greek and blogging about it! Do stop by sometime. xx

  5. Reading your blog, I’ve discovered a new place that I’m determined to visit in the next few years.
    It looks absolutely stunning!
    The poetry in your descriptions carries fragments of the beauty you are surrounded by.
    Love it!

  6. Shirley Solomon-Dowman

    You are so blessed to be surrounded by such amazing beauty. Greece has always been on my list of places to visit and you have just inspired me so much more. Keep posting those beautiful pictures and stories. It makes the dream almost reality! Thank you so much for sharing. I am in love with this place… <3

Leave a comment