The greatest painter in the world…

Everyone has witnessed nature’s unique displays of indescribable beauty at some point or rather in their life. Whether it’s a sunset, a cloud formation, a sunburst or a sublime sunrise… we’ve all seen them. Sometimes we are lucky enough to capture them… other times we are left wishing. One of the greatest pleasures of living in Oia has been the privilege of seeing natures work from a very unique vantage point. From the early morning sunrise… to the most magical sunsets, to the zen-like stillness under a blood-red sky. There is nobody that can paint like nature does. And if you doubt me… let me just remind you of some of her work over the past twelve months:

~ no words needed ~

the greatest painter in the world…

mother nature !

23 responses to “The greatest painter in the world…

  1. I’m partial to the blue skies, but the sunsets are stunning. What is the old saying, Red sky at night, sailors delight. Red sky at morn….

  2. Awesome pictures. Thank you for sharing them. I’m reminded of this verse in the book of Psalms (19:1 NIV) “The heavens declare the glory of God;
    the skies proclaim the work of his hands.”

    • I’m not a believer Phil… but you can read my thoughts on this in my next post. Thank you for the comment ;-)

      Donna – I think we are all partial to beautiful blue skies… but the sunsets and winter cloud formations are really something here.

  3. creativejumble

    beautiful photo’s… do you live in Oia year round? I lived in Crete for 4 years…. I cannot wait to come back. It has been toooo long! I want to come and do some artwork in Santorini… haven’t been in years. I think about it daily….. sigh

  4. You are so right Michael! No greater painter. Your ocean, mountains and sky photographs are truly stunning however. Magical light to bathe the mind body and soul in. Utter joy to see even from here! Thank You! Thank You!

    • Carol…missed you and your lovely words and photos. Hope you’re feeling better… looking forward to your Spring “specials” ;-)

  5. HI michael, there is nothing like nature to inspire us. You must hug yourself with joy everyday living on that island. Wish I woke up to that everyday. carla x

    • I’v made it a daily habit of thinking what I would be doing if I still lived in a large city… just to keep perspective with life on the island…. never fails to put a smile on my face. Remember what I said to you about waiting at airports? ;-)

  6. I’ve been curious to ask… has the ash from the Islandic volcano made for even more vibrant and spectacular sunsets on Santorini?

    • there is a moisture haze that’s making sunsets very special at the moment… but to be honest Christa the sunsets dont need anything to look special on this island… I’m sure you know !

  7. Caro Michael,

    So true! Nature is a maestro! The constant change of scenery. We never get tired. The sky has become our live TV screen. An Italian opera. Different acts and scenes. Yours is the antique drama, right? Enjoy and bacione, Ingrid

  8. Michael…..BELLISIMAS photos…..¡¡¡¡..I think taht Oia is one of the most beautiful places of the world… …¡¡¡¡…I love….I love..Santorini…¡¡¡¡

    Berta

  9. Andrew Shepherd

    Stunning set of images. Thanks for sharing.

  10. Great, the sky over the monastery is amazing

  11. Such surreal beauty … . .
    and
    a great reminder about what is truly
    awesome.

    Jjj

    • Ms J… great to have you drop by. I havent been to visit you as I’ve been busy renovating new studio but I look forward to spending time reading your beautiful blog with a glass of wine ;-)

  12. Love your blog!! Stumbled on your blog when googling “Santorini Vines” and what a find this is! Started to read a few of your articles immediately and was absolutely stunned. I have bookmarked it for further reading before my visit in about three weeks time. Cant wait!! I love doing easy walks in beautiful places, but unfortunate might not be able to do the one you wrote about as I have only 2-1/2 days in Santorini. Thank you for your lovely articles and wish you immense enjoyment and happiness in your cave house.
    LayLee, Kuala Lumpur
    P.S. I have heard my friends in Sydney mention “Eternity” a few times, but now I finally know a little more about it. Thanks.

    • Hi LayLee (lovely name)… please you stumbled across the blog in time for your holiday. Short visit… but don’t worry… you’ll be back ;-)

  13. It is true…no words needed…however, your photos are amazing, and so is the beauty of Greece. It has been one year and seven months since I was there. It is time to return. Thank you for sharing such inspiring beauty….and from someone who is living the dream.
    Blessings,
    Yaya

  14. Stunning!

  15. Magical…..great photos too by the way…xv

Leave a Reply

