Lamenting Oscar…

I have this friend … some of you may have heard of him. He is not your average sort of fellow, in fact most people would consider him outrageous in many ways. But he is a wit , he is an individual, he is stylish and he is nothing if not controversial. I like to have conversations with him whenever things seem mundane or whenever I get the feeling that what I am doing is…well, pedestrian.

We talk about all sorts of things… he of course has very clear opinions about most things and that just makes our conversations more interesting.

I don’t really understand what’s happening in fashion these days Oscar… today’s “look” just seems so ordinary to me, so deprived of style… so lacking in taste.

Fashion is a form of ugliness so intolerable that we have to alter it every six months”.

I agree with you. It’s exactly the way YSL put it “Fashion fades…only style is eternal”. But fashion is what people need to follow, as they feel the need to conform… they need to be like others, don’t you think?

“Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else’s opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation”.

Hmmm… as always you’re generalising Oscar, but for the most part I tend to agree with you. People are afraid to stand out, they are afraid to be different, they feel  a need to conform, to blend in, to be accepted by the majority. But there are exceptions… there is good and bad in everything.

“It is absurd to divide people into good and bad. People are either charming or tedious”.

Outrageous thinking…but, in your own ludicrous way you’re probably right.

“I sometimes think that God in creating man somewhat overestimated his ability”.

I sometimes think you are right on that too Oscar…I think he got a lot of things wrong. Life is upside down to start with. When you’re young and have your looks… you have shit for brains. Still… I know that most people wish they were younger and they do all kinds of ridiculous things to delay the ageing or maturing process.

“To get back my youth I would do anything in the world, except take exercise, get up early, or be respectable”.

You really are quite pathetic…you know that? You have so many views that are just absurd. You really should consider doing a clean out of your brain occasionally. Throw out some of your more ridiculous ideas and points of view.

“There are many things that we would throw away if we were not afraid that others might pick them up”.

You’re probably right on that too… hate having to admit it, but I think you are right. Most people find it a lot easier to pick up throw-aways from others rather than come up with something original of their own.

You are a funny creature Oscar. You look like a caricature of a travelling fool… the way you dress and carry on, but you seem to know an awful lot. In fact you seem to have a very clear position on almost everything.

“I am not young enough to know everything”.

I was being cynical you fool…nobody knows everything.

Ahhh…what is a cynic? A man who knows the price of everything and the value of nothing.

Very funny…. You can be such a smart-ass. But you really do look like a travelling fool… your bags are outrageous and so are your clothes. I bet nobody would dare talk to you during the whole trip. You probably just sit there by yourself and read.

“I never travel without my diary. One should always have something sensational to read on the train”.

God…you’re pathetic. Of all the literature you could read, all the newspapers….

“But what is the difference between literature and journalism?…Journalism is unreadable and literature is not read. That is all”.

Sadly… you’re right again. The bulk of so called journalism today is over rated personal opinion, or sensationalism. Quite pathetic really and after what the press has done to you I can’t really blame you for hating them. I bet you would love to go back and change some things you did… just so they didn’t have the excuse to write all those things about you.

“No man is rich enough to buy back his past”.

No…I guess not Oscar. But still, I guess you’re lucky in some ways. At least you’ve never really had to deal with the mysterious ways of women… other than as friends. They are intriguing creatures…you have to admit.

“Men always want to be a woman’s first love – women like to be a man’s last romance”.

Damn… that’s profound. How do you come with this shit?
But you are right again… men can be such dumb morons at times. Women see right through us… our intentions are always written all over our faces.

“A man’s face is his autobiography. A woman’s face is her work of fiction”.

Keep your voice down fool… there are women listening. I think we should talk about something else… the weather.

Conversation about the weather is the last refuge of the unimaginative.

Ok…that’s it. You’re really irritating me now…when you get in these moods you’re really a pain to be with. You can be such a pleasure to talk to… until you get in one of your moods. But I can understand Oscar… you’ve had an interesting life to say the least. You’re certainly no saint… but by today’s standards you’re certainly no sinner either.

“Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future”.

 

As is the case with a lot of thing he said… Oscar is right. Every saint has a past… and every sinner has a future. I think we misjudged him. I guess when he said “I have nothing to declare but my genius” we all took it as a joke… but now, years later, he may have just been right… once again.

“Think different” may be a catchy slogan for Apple now days… but my friend Oscar was doing that a loooong time ago.

I miss Oscar…they don’t make them like that anymore !

4 responses to “Lamenting Oscar…

  1. I love this post and the last one, too. Beautiful writing. I like to believe that because you live in such a beautiful setting, your life must be beautiful too. I read because it allows me to travel there without leaving the responsibilities and sensibilities that I have here. see you soon.

  2. No, not well at all. But I am chalking that up to experience now. I can honestly say that I am not afraid of adventure, and ready to find the next one.

    • Sorry to hear that Angie… dont let it deter you from trying again and again. Tom Krause once said “There are no failures – just experiences and your reactions to them”.
      All the very best to you and yours for the festive days ahead & let me know if you need a sounding board for your next business adventure.

Leave a Reply

