A journey to mythical Greece…

There is business to take care of … so I have to go play with the grown ups for a few days. I know you all thought that I just sit here and look at the view all day… but not so. There are a number of projects I am working on and the time has come to meet with some people on mainland Greece for about a week.

BUT…. the good news is that my trip will take me passed some fascinating historical sites in Greece. One of these is Thermopylae, the site of the famous battle of the 300 Spartans against the Persians. I will also visit Mt Olympus…home of the ancient Greek Gods, as well as my own home town of Thessaloniki – a city with over 2,500 years of history.

There will be an incredible amount to be described and photographed and I’m looking forward to bringing you some interesting images of these mythical places.

I hope to be able to post along the way…and also explore some other ancient sites I have not visited before. It will be a journey back in time and I hope it will provide you with some revealing glimpses of ancient Greek history.

I hope you have a great week and join me in my journey in the coming days….

Till soon ;-)

6 responses to “A journey to mythical Greece…

  1. I look forward to the up coming posts on the mainland. so much history. your posts are as beautiful as they are thought provoking . confession…i loved 300…i have no idea why…hyper masculine movies never really work for me…but this one i can watch over and over…who knew?

  2. I look forward to your posts. My wife and I stopped by the monument of Leonidas at Thermopylae on our way to Meteora a few years ago (before the movie 300). We asked our guide what the monument was for, he said he didn’t know. It wasn’t until after reading the book “Gates of Fire” by Steven Pressfield and seeing “300” that I figured out what the monument was. I wish I would have had that knowledge before our trip so I could have appreciated it more.

  3. Love your life. How incredible to live on Santorini. I am going to Astypalea this year. I recently read The Middle Sea by John Julius Norwich and he mentioned this story. So interesting. The Mediterrean is marvelous. Enjoy each day. carla x

    • Welcome back Carla and ty…
      I so agree with you…there are so many gorgeous small islands and not enough time to enjoy them. They call the Mediterranean the “First Eden” and I think that nails it….we’re so lucky to have it on our doorstep living in Europe.

  4. Oh great! I will be waiting for those amazing photos… Never been to Greece before :)

  5. Sail away….I can’t wait for your photos, and especially for your stories, which you tell so well.
    Catherine

Leave a Reply

