Oia – the best gets better !

Been a while… I know, but lots going on. It’s a new season and the whole island is getting ready for what is expected to be a busy season (cruises 20% up apparently). I dare say that Greece will benefit from Egypt’s and Tunisia’s unrest…as well as the general imrpovement in global economic conditions.
So April has started with a bang…. and the whole island is being painted, renovated, refreshed and generally preparing for the season ahead. I said to visitors recently that April reminds me of the joke about the Queen (supposedly she thinks the whole world smells of fresh paint). This is how Santorini smells in April….at least until Greek Easter, which is the “official” start of the tourist season.

The good news is that although I haven’t written much…. I have been taking lots of photos and I will be publishing these in the comming weeks. I think Oia is looking better than ever…. and visitors will again see why it is (I believe) the most beautiful village in the world. Other villages on the island like Firostefani and to some extent Pyrgos  have also made considerable efforts to look their best…. but there is really no comparison to Oia (biased I know… but would argue this with anyone, anywhere, at any time). In fact…. rather than argue or debate this point, I will just let the images speak for themselves :

this is the green on the hills that summer visitors dont get to see… Spring is a magical time to be on the island – btw… if you’re going to have a balcony
anywhere……

 

a glimpse of my neighborhood through the tiny alleys and paths that shape
the caldera side of Oia…

one of the major differences between Oia (certainly the old part of Oia where I live) and the rest of the villages on the caldera…. is that Oia still has the most
number of privately owned villas…. as opposed to the endless hotels of Imerovigli and to some extent Firostefani. This is one of the major factors
in the preservation of it’s character, colour and architectural integrity !

the views of course are sublime from all parts of the caldera…. it’s a physical wonder and (as I like to call her) a “spiritual seducer”

but Oia…. well…. Oia is OIA !


this is a photo from last year… but one of my all time favorites….
it always reminds me of what I used to, and still say to people….
“if you ever come across a more picturesque village anywhere in the world,
please… call me”

Till Thursday… ; )  M

ps: if you have anything specific about the island or island life you would like to read about….please drop me a line or leave a message…. feedback is a blogger’s candy  “-/

pps:  for daily updates please find us on facebook and make yourself known as a blog reader…. you can also take a peek at Allison’s updated blog:  www.AegeanDesigns.com
Facebook:  “oiasantorini”      or   “aegean designs”

 

 

 

4 responses to “Oia – the best gets better !

  1. Paulette Osborne

    I totally agree. and seeing these pictures makes me long for this beautiful spot!! I was supposed to be spending my 65th bday (April 30) there but life got turned upside down. My son and his family are moving to Paris and I am moving back to NYC. I only moved to LA to be near them and share in their lives. So at least I will be closer in NYC. Hopefully next year will be my time! Fingers crossed. Enjoy your lovely summer. I hope the guests appreciate what you offer. I know I did. Cheers, Paulette

  2. Just absolutely stunning. I can only dream of going there one day.

  3. I love your line, “if you find a more beautiful place in the world call me.” I know your phone has sat silent. :) I look forward to finally meeting you and Allison sometime n September!

    • Anne ~ not sat on silent…but as a friend said when he first came here “that’s one call you ain’t never going to get”…. look forward to seeing you guys in September ; ))

      Vickie ~ if you want it…it will happen !

      Paulette ~ see you on your birthday next year ; )

Leave a Reply

