Snow on Santorini & sublime sunsets…

Its always the case isn’t it?  Whenever you say something about the weather it turns against you. I’ve been telling anyone and everyone that this year we’ve had a Clayton’s winter (the winter you have…when you don’t have a winter)…. and the next day what happens??   IT SNOWS !

Yes indeed…. snow on Santorini, in March no less. Talk about things to put into the environmental WTF file…. I mean seriously. I have been in a T-shirt since last November – give or take a couple of “cool” days – and now that Spring is here…. it SNOWS !

Can you believe that?

The worse thing is that unlike the last snow storm in 2008…. this one had a bit too much wind for the snow to settle….but luckily it wasn’t cold enough for the slush to turn into ice on the roads (unlike the last time). It was just a nice morning of pretend (Greek-island style) snow blizzard. I know…Greek-island style snow blizzard it’s an oxymoron…. but thats what it was. A mini, pretend snow storm. Just enough to be exciting for some pictures… but a pain in the butt in terms of getting around by car…not to mention by foot. Sadly for me the camera memory card played up and only two images survived:

 

I know what you’re thinking…this guy is having us on, this is not snow, it’s just a bit of frost. But trust me…. it snowed for 3-4 hours, it just couldn’t settle because of the wind. Besides…. it is Santorini we’re talking about, not St Petersburg.

I’m sure if I ran around the island’s high peaks (Pyrgos etc)…. I would’ve found plenty of snow to photograph, but I was too busy painting the studio for that kind of manic storm chasing. Besides, I know by now that a snow storm on Santorini lasts 2-3 hours max…. after that the Sun makes an appearance and winks at us with that “just kidding ya” look. It’s a novelty act…. to be filed away in the ever expanding WTF file ( which…. even since I have lived in Greece, has been growing exponentially).

The odd weather did bring some unexpected pleasures though… the normally sublime scenery I enjoy by living on this island….became almost surreal at times. To call it beautiful is really like saying Sophia Loren was just your average wench. It really is sublime…. and on afternoons like today it just has you searching for superlatives…yet again. Let me show you what I mean:

a sleeping volcano… a sunburst….. a glowing desert storm on the horizon
& the Therassia milk-runner…. all in one shot !

Firostefani at sunset…


unmistakably Santorini…


the blue dome… saying goodnight to the Bluestar ferry…

Had to wait almost 45 minutes to get that last shot… but well worth it, don’t you think?

waving ~~~   ; )

 

 

 

7 responses to “Snow on Santorini & sublime sunsets…

  1. Amaia Guijarro

    Dear Michalis, Thank you for telling us about the odd things taking place with the weather in Santorini and for the SUBLIME pictures, they do are most beautiful!!
    Apart from being a “wordsmith” you might have become a “photosmith”…
    Best regards to Allison and the kids!

  2. HI Michael,
    So funny to see snow on Santorini! Thanks for sharing. Have missed you. Will be back soon(er).
    Take good care,
    Kirsten

  3. Dear Michael
    Looking at your last photo reminded me of a photo i took on your island a few years ago. I waited on skaros for 2 hours sitting on rock above the little church for a ferry to pass just to get that photo of the church dome and ferry leaving santorini .Thank you Michael for your words and pictures.Will be back to santorini next month hope to see you and Alison in Firostefani at the studio. Alan

  4. Carolyn Hadden

    Loved seeing the pictures of your snowfall,since I never visit in the winter, and the one of the blue dome with the bluestar ferry was certainly worth waiting 45 minutes to get.I have some similar ones but your’s is so beautiful.I look forward so much to reading your’s and Alison’s blogs,and seeing all the pictures,and my day is made when I discover a new blog!We have had a slow start to our dry season but it is now very hot and sunny,which I am glad for since I have had flu for most of this year.Yes,we also get flu in the Caribbean!

  5. Hi Michael, looks like you guys go some of our winter weather. Paris is sublime at the moment more like santorini than you can imagine.. Carla xx

  6. mieke ten haaf

Leave a Reply

