Iterum vivere tu solus….

No matter where you are…no matter what your circumstances… the choices are always yours.  To paraphrase Albert Einstein ….. “There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle”.

We all know it’s not a dress rehearsal… and yet we squander it. We try to play it safe. But Helen Keller was right all along… “Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature, nor do the children of men as a whole experience it. Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. Life is either a daring adventure, or nothing“.

Playing it safe, or sticking with the familiar may be easier….but you always miss out on the sublime miracles, the great adventures… the exquisite moments.

 

Waking up to this didn’t come easy…. but I would like you to tell me what rare treat ever does. The rarer the treat… the more it’s worth fighting for…

 

 

If our lives are like a candle in the wind…. then there are places to see, things to enjoy, events to experience & footprints to leave on virgin snow.  You’re not always going to win… but you don’t want your flame snuffed out without knowing…without trying…. without taking a shot. As the racing driver said following his win after many attempts: “Some days you’re the bug. Some days you’re the windshield”.

 

No… it’s never easy. But in the words of the Dead Poets “you’ve got to suck the marrow out of life…. or what’s the point”?

Iterum vivere tu solus  ~  You only live once !

6 responses to “Iterum vivere tu solus….

  1. Dear Mihalis,
    You are a wordsmith!
    Thank you for the quotations and the latin, it is worth remembering them and using them in everyday life. Best regards to you, Allison, the family and the deep blue sea!

  2. Your words are always so meaningful and so poignant. I love to read you, it always makes me feel like enjoying life more ardently. Thank you for bringing sense to our daily life, it seems that we sometimes forget what the true meaning of it all is. I share your view and I would like to be brave enough to make my own life a miracle. Maybe one day :-)
    Warm regards from my little French country village,
    natalie

  3. Michelle - Germany

    Hello! I am new here as of today…..a little hard for me to read these wonderful words of yours as I keep on crying. The pain in my heart is tangible. We have just come back from our 8th visit to the island and, once again, have been looking at properties for sale on the Net!! A dream of course….we always say that…..this morning sitting looking out at the rain again I had such a STRONG feeling we need to go for it that I came up and (yes!!) Googled :-) Moving To Santorini. After a few false starts I discovered this wonderful, inspiring Blog of yours and read a quote by Mark Twain that had me sobbing. I love your style of writing and the quotes and Cool Verse, the incredible pictures. We are working on our own photos for a small local exhibition of Santorini images in June…..how very hard to choose from thousands!! And still it is never enough. What I personally discovered on this last trip was that it is the one place I can truly just BE, and live in the present moment. I take heart from the fact that you searched for many years, although we are not as young as you sadly……Thank you for inspiring and motivating me today. Warm Wishes from a Brit living in Germany!

Leave a Reply

