Aegean seachange…

- “What on earth made you move to an island in Greece ? “
– “If I need t0 explain it to you… you’ll probably never understand ! “

Its July…. the island is teaming with people from all over the world. All age groups, all kinds of people, seeking to enjoy a holiday on the Greek islands. For many its a holiday they had planned for years, or a dream wedding, or an island-hop adventure, or a second visit to an island they fell in love with years earlier. Each visitor has a story…their own personal story.

Many people have been visiting the Aegean Design studio since it opened. A surprising number of people actually. Some happen to walk passed, others have heard about it somehow and seek it out. Most are very curious as to how it came about and they will ask questions… many questions. They want to know how, when, why and what. They want to understand, they want to hear the story and listen to the rational behind it. However…it often makes me wonder if they really want to know “our” story or do they want to mentally compare it to the story/vision/dream they themselves have deep in their minds.

You see I have a theory… my theory is that there is a seachange lurking inside everyone. Its like a short movie that plays inside their heads, over and over. Sometimes it has taken years to create the movie, other times the movie was started as a result of a more recent event like travel, seeing a documentary/travel show, seeing an image in a magazine or a web site or a blog. Some read a book or they have a long conversation with a friend about an old movie made in an “exotic” location. Whichever way the short “movie” was created in their minds it is now their dream, their personal mental adventure, their ultimate “escape” plan.

According to my theory most people ask a question about life on the island and as soon as I start telling them the story I can see their minds drifting. Their own movie kicks in (so to speak). Its not me they are thinking about…its themselves. How does my adventure compare with theirs, is that what they would’ve done, is that how they would’ve handled things. Their thoughts often spill out and they will say things like “I’ve always wanted to do that” or “my dream is a house in …..” or “I see myself doing that one day”. Other times they say nothing. They just tilt their heads and listen with a broad smile on their face…. and you can tell they are dreaming.

Not everyone dreams of a seachange on an island or another country of course. Some people simply want to move house or change a job, or pursue a career or achieve a goal. The term “seachange’ simply symbolises a burning desire, a passion, a dream (at least in my mind). The interesting thing is that from all the people I meet and talk to its those with a clear dream, passion and/or desire that seem happiest. They may not have accomplished it yet… but they know what it is and they are somehow working towards it.

Having that “short movie” in your mind may seem (to some) as a luxury, an indulgence or a guilty pleasure. But I see it differently. I see it as a driving force, a reason for being, a lifeplan.

I think everyone should purposely become the director of a short movie called “My Life”. Write your own script, scout your own locations and “choose” the role you want to play in it, as well as the roles for anyone else you want in the movie. Choose the soundrack of your life, the scenes you want in it, the surprises and the highlights. Choose your co-star/s and set out to cast your own movie rather than leave it to chance. In short…. be the director  and star of your own movie/life. If you don’t, you’ll probably end up being an “extra’ in someone else’s.

 

PS: promise to post a lot more that I did this past week. Lots of pictures and stories next week ;-)

9 responses to “Aegean seachange…

  1. Caro Michael,
    I think you are the kind of person who sees life in pictures and cartoons. Your mind is a design studio. People, who see their (future) life filmed, do not fear change. Those, who draw the curtain before act one, shut themselves in. You can be the playright, but each one of us has to remove the scales from our eyes and “let go”… or it will remain just a dream. Enjoy your Oia weekend! Bacione, Ingrid in Umbria

  2. I whole-heartedly agree. You see it constantly. I’ve always sort of resented the way others disappear into their own fantasy after asking about my story but now that you say it like that, I realize that we all do it. I guess we can give each other that!
    Happy Sunday! Hope it’s meant lots of business for you.
    Kirsten

  3. Hello Michael,

    I like your metaphor or theory of seachange… a state of mind… somewhere in the depth of one’s mind… a desire for change when one is caught up in the race to keep afloat… having a clear idea or script of what might be… working towards it… sounds like pretty good directing… I can relate somewhat to your island seachange though I live in an ocean of lush green… folks who visit here do share in a similar way you write about… coming from the cities to the quiet and quaint wilderness… citing their dreams of a simpler life connected to nature. You are an inspiration to many I am sure and thereby part of their “My Life” movie.
    Thanks for the visit to Flower Hill and for your poignant comment on Darwin and technology… uncanny timing as I had just lost my ‘hard drive’ and perhaps tons of work… do not put off till tomorrow what you might do today!! Yikes… Well much of Darwin’s work is intact and able to be enjoyed and studied… surely he would have backed up more often than I do.
    Best,
    Carol

  4. Great comments…thank you. Seems we have all seen that “look” in people’s eyes. I’m just not sure that enough people have learned from an early age to be the producer/director of their own life movie. I’m not sure many people have ever even thought that you can do that….cast, script and direct your own life…as opposed to leaving it to chance.
    I think schools as we know them have a lot to answer for this lack of life-planning skills in our kids.

  5. Thought of you today when I read this…
    “Today we are aware as never before of the plurality of human life-styles and possibilities, while at the same time being tied, like in an old silent movie, to a runaway locomotive rushing headlong toward a very singular catastrophe”
    — Gary Snyder (Earth House Hold: Technical Notes and Queries to Fellow Dharma Revolutionaries)

    • I like to believe that nothing is beyond humans Carol, surely on the negative but also very much on the positive as well.
      I’m sorry to hear about your hard drive…damn nuisance. I don’t know how it happened but there are plenty of “dr harddrive” guys out there that can usually retrieve things for you. Maybe worth a try if it’s not too late ;-)

  6. Love this post…this past weekend my husband and I escaped from the city to Asheville, NC for some cooler weather and vistas. I have your blog in my Google Reader and have often told my husband and “encouraged” him to read about your adventure…especially digging out the cave. Anyhow…when we got into the hotel after our trip and turned on the TV and ended up on the comedy channel…to make a long story short…Ron White who is a comedian who works with Jeff Foxworthy was doing a one man routine and was talking about his honeymoon to your lovely island. If you ever get the chance…don’t even know if you have TV there…but if you travel or own a DVD…watch this show. It was too funny and I’m sure you can relate to his story of choosing the donkey ride or tram to traverse the mountains…lol It gave my husband a new appreciation for your lovely island. Fondly, Roberta

  7. I was in Santorini the week before you wrote your blog. Prior to being there, I only imagined, like the people you spoke about. When you are there, it is pure magic that no photograph or words can explain. I feel like I am different now just for being there a having my own experience.

    I was travelling with other friends in Crete, but going to Santorini was my dream so I went alone. I will be back, and soon…Seachange has happened!

    • So pleased you got to experience Santorini Dianne. I hope you can keep the magic & images in your mind for motivation. “Going alone” may have been hard… bur arent you glad you did?
      Thanks for letting me know ;-)

Leave a Reply

