Oia Santorini – looking out the window of life!

Depending on where you live, or how you live, you probably spend several hours a week looking out your window…we all have a window that we like to sit in front of and look out. A few of you have asked what it’s really like to live here…. “dont you get sick of the view?”, “doesn’t it get boring after a while?”.

I’ve always felt that looking out your window… you see your life. You see yourself essentially. The view from your window is either what you’ve dreamed about and achieved, or perhaps what you have to look at… till you make your dream come true. Some dream of looking at fields of gold, be it vines, olive trees or endless farmland. Others dream of a Tuscan countryside scene, or lavender fields in Provence, or a lake or a mountain-range. Others simply want to look at a glorious garden that they have painstakingly shaped over many years. Whatever the view is… it says a lot about you and where you are in your life. If the image you see is the one you have always wanted to see…you have made it happen. If it’s not, then you are still working on it. Either way the view you see out your own window didn’t get there by chance (with some exceptions). The choices we make everyday… place us in front of our windows. What we see when we look out is the result of our choices…or lack thereof.

Using our window view as a metaphor for our lives is, I think, quite valid. We all hear people say “I’d love to look out of my window in the morning and see……”. I used to say those very same words….”I’d love to”.

Then one day… I changed it to “I WILL look out of my window and see…..”.

So, to answer the people that asked “do I get sick of it” or “doesn’t it get boring”…. the answer is NO!

Along with many-many other reasons.. here is why:

sailship

at sunrise I see beautiful ships coming into the caldera….

 

white

all kinds of ships…. big and small 

 

ferry

in peak summer I see a dozen ferrys come and go daily…

 

fishing boat

and the local fishermen returning home at lunchtime
after selling their catch to the tavernas at Ammoudi…

 

 

princess

in the afternoon I watch the big boats leave…
this is the biggest of them all….the Princess 

 

izzy

at sunset I watch my kids watching the old sailing boats
giving visitors a taste of Santorini magic…

 

night

and often…late into the night, as I sit here and type this little blog,
I see the cruise ships leaving…lit up like Christmas trees !

 

If you look out your window and you don’t see the view you want to see, the view you have dreamed of seeing… its never too late.
If you really, really want to… you can make your window view everything you want it to be ! ! !

 

 

 

5 responses to “Oia Santorini – looking out the window of life!

  1. Michael, your last paragraph brought tears to my eyes. For now, I’ll have to be content to look out of your window!
    Keep those gorgeous photos coming!
    Catherine

  2. Well said. And so true.

  3. Michael, a great post and well said! Procrastination is the biggest deterrent of them all! The pics are just beautiful!

  4. so true!

    the photos of the sailboats look like they’re from a fairy tale.

  5. This post certainly resonates with me Michael. I look out my windows and see a dream that came true and the proof that change is not only positive but possible. Your view is magnificent and I would never be able to concentrate (a problem I often have here) on the daily aspects of life. Thank you for your thoughtful comment on French Essence and your very valid point. Love your blog, xv.

Leave a Reply

